It’s Time to Start Watering the Flowers

IMG_0045 copy.JPG

Real talk: I didn’t think that a month after I moved, I would still be living & trying to operate my full time monster making business in my brother’s spare bedroom that I share with my ten year old son & our dog. I’ve struggled a lot emotionally, and financially, post-divorce-and-move. Things didn’t work out quite like they were planned to & so I have had to accept that a couple of weeks of staying here will be more like a couple of months. I’m so grateful that my brother & his wife are fine with that, that they have so graciously welcomed me into their home, and that we do have a decent sized space to share that is warm, cozy & safe.

But I won’t lie, it was hard to swallow my pride. It was hard to admit not that I can’t do this on my own, but I can’t do this on my ownΒ right now. I’ve struggled to accept that it’s okay to take some time to sort things out and get on my feet. I’ve always been fiercely independent, so this has been an incredibly humbling experience.

I’ve been choosing every day to count all I have to be thankful for & receiving this sweet art print in with a card I won from Selena Ashley Designs today just reaffirmed that I am on the right path. Instead of worrying about all that isn’t going the way I want right now, I will continue to focus on all the things that make me smile every day instead – being warm, safe, healthy, with food in my tummy, clothes on my body, Β family around me and being able to pursue my passion & work from home.

Thanks, Selena – you don’t know how much I needed this reminder during this season of my life!

If you want to check out more of Selena’s super inspiring work, you can find her on Facebook, Instagram & Etsy.

Leave a Reply

